IMG_1192

While checking the regrowth after an autumn burn in the Yarck Flora Reserve at Terrip Terrip I found this beautiful thing. I got all excited about how this  “controlled burn” must have stimulated these sun orchids into flowering until I looked at the opposite side of the road which hadn’t been burnt and found six more!  Could the proximity to smoke and fire triggered this event ? I’ve never observed sun orchids as tall and intensely colourful as these before in the Strathbogie Ranges. Raced home, fairly confident that I could identify them from the photos I had taken  but as I browsed through my native orchid book I was confronted with about 40 species of tall blue sun orchids to choose from and quickly  became confused. My guess is the Great Sun Orchid. Thelymitra aristata.

IMG_1175IMG_1178